Current organization reference

Putting Owen Sound’s Current Organization in the Public Record

This page brings Owen Sound’s current City, Library, and Police organization together in one place, including departments, positions, reporting relationships, management layers and available salary records.

This chart shows how the public documents describe City services, the Library’s joint-local-board branch, Police Services and their reporting relationships today.

Why this chart exists

The City’s 2026 Annual Organizational Work Plan with appendices is a substantial document of approximately 543 pages. Organizational information is spread throughout the report across departments, services, projects and responsibilities.

Owen Sound Police Services publishes its organizational chart separately under the Police Services Board. Bringing these public pieces together gives residents one visual reference for City administration, elected governance and police governance.

This page makes the current public record easier to examine, compare and clarify.

What the chart combines

The current per-seat chart combines:

  • City departments, functions and positions transcribed from the City’s 2026 Annual Organizational Work Plan with appendices;
  • the separate December 2025 Owen Sound Police Services organizational chart;
  • the 2024 FIR Schedule 80A Library workforce baseline, reporting 14 full-time and 8 part-time employees under joint local boards;
  • the Library’s public management page;
  • 2025 Ontario public-sector salary-disclosure records matched to charted City and Library roles where a reasonable match exists; and
  • published 2026 compensation for the Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Councillors: $62,360.48, $32,217.12 and $28,015.00 respectively.

The Library appears as a separate joint-local-board branch with its own management structure. The Police Services Board relationship is shown as a governance connection. The Mayor’s voting relationship with the Board appears alongside the City’s ordinary administrative structure, while police reporting remains separate from the City Manager reporting structure.

Current organization charts

The overview chart shows documented departments and reporting layers. The full per-seat chart contains 297 charted nodes. Some nodes represent individual positions, while others represent departments, units, teams, or source-record groupings.

Overview of Owen Sound’s current City organization, separate Library Board branch, elected governance, and Police Services Board connection
Overview: current City organization, separate Library Board branch, elected governance and Police Services Board connection.

The full chart preserves the supplied SVG artwork and text. It includes individual positions where staffing counts are available, along with source-record groupings, the separate Library branch and the separate Police Services branch.

Fit viewer
Full chart of Owen Sound’s current City, Library, and Police Services organizational structures, including reporting relationships, Library workforce baseline, and available salary-disclosure labels

Use Fit viewer to fill the available chart width. Zoom in for readable detail, then click and drag to pan or scroll within the viewer in either direction.

Full detail: current City, Library and Police Services organization, including individual positions and source-record groupings.

Text summary for mobile and screen-reader users. City administration remains under the City Manager, with governing officials shown in a separate governing-level connection. City departments shown in the overview include Corporate Services, Community Services, Public Works and Engineering, Fire and Emergency Services, and Strategic Initiatives, Communications and External Relations.

The Library appears under its separate joint local board and Library management structure. Its branch contains four named management roles, Tim Nicholls Harrison, Nadia Danyluk, Lindsey Harris and Dale Albrecht, plus eighteen role-unclassified positions used to represent the 22-person 2024 FIR baseline.

The Police Services branch appears under its separate Police Services Board, with the Mayor shown as a Board voting member. That relationship remains separate from City Manager reporting. The full chart includes individual positions where the source provides staffing counts, along with department, unit and team labels where the source shows a group without individual staffing detail. Police examples include Auxiliary Officers, Part-Time Officers, MHCRT, CORE and BCWA.

Evidence lab

Explore the chart

0 of 4 investigations completed

Use the chart as a starting point for investigating how City services are arranged. The MNP Service Delivery Review adds dated observations and recommendations from 2023. Choose an answer, then open the linked source to follow the evidence yourself.

1Trace a serviceStart with a department and ask what the chart can show.

Find Public Works and Engineering in the chart. Which question can the public organization record help you investigate?

Source answer: The chart shows departments, roles, reporting relationships and source-record groupings. Workload, cost, vacancies and service results require additional records.

Follow the evidence: Current charts · 2026 Annual Organizational Work Plan

2Spot the service-delivery clueCompare the Public Works and Community Services branches.

MNP reported a perceived siloed approach to service delivery, with possible duplication particularly between Public Works and Community Services. What is the useful next investigation?

Source answer: Compare the current chart with duties, workflows, handoffs and results. MNP reported a stakeholder perception from its 2023 review; the report does not establish that a department is unnecessary.

Follow the evidence: MNP current-state observations, PDF page 9 · Service valuation data

3Check what MNP actually proposedMatch a recommendation to the right function.

Which change is directly documented in MNP’s organizational recommendations?

Source answer: MNP recommended investigating fleet centralization in Public Works, customer-service centralization in Community Services, and selected management-team changes. It discussed finance-related manager consolidation within Corporate Services. The report does not recommend moving the entire Manager of Corporate Services function to Public Works.

Follow the evidence: MNP organizational recommendations, PDF pages 19–20 · Corporate Services records

4Read a service score carefullyUse the review as a question prompt, not a verdict.

The review lists Roads Maintenance and Winter Control at 6.67 in its overview and 6.75 in its detailed calculation. What is the careful conclusion?

Source answer: The review’s service-value score is a composite measure, not a direct resident vote or a complete performance audit. The local data page preserves both Roads Maintenance and Winter Control values and the reported survey bands.

Follow the evidence: MNP service valuation table · MNP overview, PDF page 70

The chart gives you a map. The review gives you dated questions to investigate. Current duties, workload, costs and service results require current records.

How to read the salary colours

Matched salary labels represent rounded salary paid in the 2025 Ontario public-sector salary disclosure. The continuous colour scale runs from purple and violet at the highest disclosed amounts through blue, green, yellow, orange and red at lower amounts:

  • Purple/violet: approximately $191,000–$224,784
  • Blue: approximately $157,000–$190,999
  • Green: approximately $112,000–$156,999
  • Yellow: approximately $78,000–$111,999
  • Orange: approximately $44,000–$77,999
  • Red: approximately $28,015–$43,999

White represents an unknown, mixed, aggregated or otherwise unreliable individual match. Labels represent salary paid under the disclosure rules. Complete base salary, benefits, pension and employer-cost information require separate records.

For example:

  • Kate Allan, Director Corporate Services: $164,781.27
  • Suzanne Bell-Matheson, Director of Corporate Services: $115,015.92
  • Bradey Carbert, Manager of Corporate Services: $113,528.18

The source identifies separate records, so the chart keeps each record separate and reports each amount individually.

Salary Methodology

The chart uses public salary records from Owen Sound municipal sources, the Police Services Board, published elected compensation and Ontario’s public-sector salary disclosure. Ontario’s disclosure system reports employees paid $100,000 or more. Exact employee salary-paid amounts below that threshold are represented through approximate department-level ranges where the budget and chart evidence support a reliable calculation.

Public salary records

Salary-paid amounts above the disclosure threshold appear when the employer and job title provide a reliable match to a charted role. Repeated roles use clearly labelled averages where the public records identify a group of comparable records. For example, repeated firefighter and Water Distribution Operator labels marked “avg.” show the average disclosed amount used for those charted roles.

Department-level inference

For selected departments, the chart estimates an approximate gross salary equivalent from the department budget through this sequence:

  1. Match disclosed employees by employer and job title.
  2. Apply the general 3% wage adjustment used in the 2026 budget model.
  3. Apply the model’s 33% full-time overhead assumption for benefits, pension, payroll taxes and related employer costs.
  4. Subtract the known loaded costs from the department’s 2026 salary-and-benefit budget.
  5. Divide the remaining loaded budget by the unmatched charted FTE count.
  6. Convert the residual loaded amount into an approximate gross salary equivalent.
  7. Display the result as a rounded $10,000 range.

These are department-level planning estimates derived from the residual budget. They describe an approximate range for a charted role and carry no individual payroll claim. Current labels include ranges such as ~$80k-$90k, ~$90k-$100k and ~$110k-$120k. The $10,000 range is a local privacy-preserving display convention, not an official Ontario reporting band.

Departments with usable residual estimates

The current method produced usable residual estimates for:

  • City Manager, Strategic Initiatives and Communications
  • External Relations and Investment
  • Information Technology
  • Clerk Services
  • Geographic Information System
  • Building and Inspection Services
  • Planning and Heritage

Selected charted seats in these departments carry coloured backgrounds and approximate salary ranges. The department cost-estimates register shows the budget line, FTE count, known salary matches, residual calculation and reconciliation status for each department.

Departments that remain unresolved

White entries identify salary information that remains unresolved because the charted seat count, budget FTE count, departmental scope, part-time classification or service mix does not reconcile reliably. Human Resources and Payroll, Finance and the Tom Thomson Art Gallery remain unresolved in the current register. White means the salary is unknown, mixed, not individually disclosed or not safely inferable from the available public information.

By-law budget clarification

The 2026 Mayor’s Operating Budget, page 19, lists By-law Enforcement with:

  • 2 FTE Salaries and Benefits: $295,900
  • $27,500 in Summer Student Contract Services

The budget notes that the wage line includes an additional supervisor and a part-time enforcement contract while a full-time enforcement officer is gapped. Because the line combines regular FTE wages, an additional supervisor, part-time contract work and a gapped position, it cannot be divided across the two charted By-law Officers. Their individual salary ranges remain unresolved and white.

The chart separately shows dashed contextual nodes for:

  • Additional By-law Supervisor
  • Part-time Enforcement Contract
  • Summer Student Contract

Dashed nodes represent budget roles or contracts shown for context. They are excluded from the permanent charted-seat count. The $27,500 amount is contract-services spending for the budgeted programme, rather than an individual salary.

Colour meaning and calculation sources

The continuous rainbow scale runs from purple and violet at the highest visible amounts through blue, green, yellow, orange and red at lower visible amounts. Colours represent public salary-paid amounts, clearly labelled averages or approximate budget-residual bands. Labels marked “avg.” or “~” identify the calculation type and should be read as estimates or averages.

Readers can inspect the full per-seat chart, full per-seat PDF, current-organization methodology notes, Ontario’s 2025 public-sector salary disclosure and the 2026 Mayor’s Operating Budget.

Anomalies in the public records

A few entries in the chart look unusual because the source documents were published at different times, for different purposes and at different levels of detail. The chart combines:

  • the City’s 2026 Annual Organizational Work Plan;
  • the December 2025 Owen Sound Police Services organizational chart;
  • the 2025 Ontario public-sector salary disclosure; and
  • published 2026 elected compensation.

These sources are not one synchronized position register. Their dates, job titles, naming conventions and level of detail differ.

Two Directors of Corporate Services

The 2025 Ontario salary disclosure contains two separate records with nearly identical titles:

  • Kate Allan, “Director Corporate Services”: $164,781.27
  • Suzanne Bell-Matheson, “Director of Corporate Services”: $115,015.92

Bradey Carbert also appears separately as Manager of Corporate Services at $113,528.18.

The chart keeps these records separate because the salary disclosure lists separate people and separate records. The difference in wording may reflect separate positions, a title change, an acting or transitional assignment, or a naming difference between records. The salary disclosure alone cannot show how those records fit into the current reporting structure.

The City’s current position register and reporting chart would be needed to explain whether these were simultaneous positions, sequential assignments or different responsibilities.

Police groupings

The police section contains several group or unit labels rather than individual staffing entries. Examples include:

  • Uniform Patrol, described as including part-time and auxiliary officers;
  • Part-Time Officers, with staffing not disclosed;
  • Auxiliary Officers, with staffing not disclosed;
  • Mental Health Crisis Response Team, or MHCRT;
  • Community Oriented Response and Enforcement, or CORE; and
  • Bail Compliance and Warrant Apprehension, or BCWA.

These entries come from the December 2025 Owen Sound Police Services organizational chart. That source shows units, assignments or functions, while the available material does not provide the number of people in each group, the individual positions within each group or whether members are counted elsewhere in the chart.

The chart therefore preserves the group labels instead of inventing individual seats. The missing detail comes from the level of detail in the police source itself. The Police Services Board and Owen Sound Police Services would need to provide the current staffing establishment and reporting details to expand these groups accurately.

Library records

The Library is governed through a separate joint local board, while the City’s public financial statements consolidate the Library for reporting purposes. The available public records provide a 2024 workforce count and several named management roles, but they do not provide a complete employee roster, role mapping, or fully burdened allocation of shared HR, IT, payroll, administration, facilities, water/sewer, insurance, debt, and amortization costs.

  • The 2024 FIR Schedule 80A baseline reports 14 full-time and 8 part-time Library employees under joint local boards.
  • The Library’s public management page identifies Tim Nicholls Harrison as CEO / Chief Librarian, Nadia Danyluk as Deputy Chief Librarian, Lindsey Harris as Administration and Facilities Manager, and Dale Albrecht as Technical Services Manager.
  • The 2025 salary disclosure reports $146,662.48 in salary paid for the Chief Librarian and $114,819.72 for the Deputy Chief Librarian.

Other reasons entries may look unusual

The chart can also show differences caused by:

  • a City organization source from 2026 being combined with salary records from 2025;
  • job titles appearing with slightly different wording in different documents;
  • salary disclosure records showing salary paid rather than a complete position-cost record;
  • some source records providing a number of positions while others provide only a unit or group name; and
  • public records showing a role or salary without identifying its current vacancy, occupant or reporting line.

These are source-record differences. They should be explained and verified through current records before drawing conclusions about the organization.

What the chart shows

The chart provides a visual baseline for examining:

  • current City departments and service areas;
  • the separate Library Board branch, its named management team and 2024 workforce baseline;
  • reporting relationships;
  • management layers;
  • repeated or separately counted positions;
  • the separate Police Services Board structure and the Mayor’s voting relationship with it;
  • available salary-disclosure matches; and
  • areas where the public record needs clarification.

What the City would need to provide to complete the chart

To turn this public reconstruction into a complete current organization chart, the City would need to provide a current position register with one row for every approved City position, including:

  • position number, job title, department, unit and current reporting line;
  • current occupant, vacant status, acting status, temporary status and employment type;
  • full-time-equivalent count and scheduled hours;
  • base salary, salary band, benefits, pension contributions and complete employer cost; and
  • the duties, service responsibility and number of direct reports connected to each position.

The City would also need to identify changes between the 2026 organizational work plan and the current position register, including positions that were created, renamed, transferred, combined, vacant or discontinued.

For Police Services, the Police Services Board or Owen Sound Police Services would need to provide:

  • the current approved staffing establishment;
  • the number of full-time, part-time, auxiliary, civilian and sworn members;
  • the number of people assigned to Auxiliary, Mental Health Crisis Response, CORE, BCWA, Criminal Investigations, Uniform Patrol and other named units;
  • each unit’s supervisor and reporting line;
  • whether a unit is a permanent department, a team, an assignment, a program or a functional label; and
  • whether members of a named group are already counted under another police category.

The City and Police Services Board would also need to publish the date of each chart and register so residents can tell which information is current.

Until those records are available, the chart shows the organization and groupings described in the public documents. It also shows exactly where the public record needs more detail.

Sources and how the chart was built

We built the chart by transcribing the public organization documents, expanding repeated positions where the documents provide counts, matching salary records by employer and job title where possible, and preserving group labels where the source does not provide individual staffing details. Unknown or unmatched information remains clearly identified rather than being guessed.

  • Salary paid remains separate from base salary, benefits and total employer cost.
  • Unmatched, mixed and undisclosed values remain white.
  • Police Services Board governance remains separate from City administration.

Published sources

The chart should be updated when the underlying public records change.